Three Upperclassmen Claim Academic All-MAC Honors

WTEN Academic All-MAC

BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo women's tennis team placed three on the Academic All-MAC squad, which was announced on Tuesday morning, including a pair of seniors that have been honored for the third straight year.  Seniors Chantal Martinez Blanco and Sanjana Sudhir became two of 11 individuals across the league to earn academic honors in all years of eligibility, while junior Emel Abibula was named to the team for the first time.

Martinez Blanco, who has a 3.781 GPA in economics, earned the MAC Presidents Award and was awarded the Clifford C. Furnas award, which is the highest academic honor bestowed on a Buffalo student-athlete. On the court, she went 16-12 in singles this past year, including winning 13 matches at first singles as she was named a second-team All-MAC selection.  Martinez Blanco also dominated in doubles, going 20-9 with partner Nikoleta Antoniou-Karademitrou, including 15-6 at first doubles.  She finished her career with 80 wins, just the fourth player in school history with 80 or more singles victories in her career.

Sudhir was also honored for the third straight year as she has a 3.542 GPA in economics. The Thrissur, India native earned the MAC Presidents Award and she went 17-10 in singles during her senior season, including a 13-5 mark at sixth singles. Sudhir finished her career with 74 wins, tied for sixth most in school history.

Abibula has a 3.224 GPA in international trade. This past season, she went 15-10 during the season in singles action as she played everywhere from second singles straight through fifth singles during the year.  She went 8-3 at fifth singles for Buffalo. Abibula became a force at third doubles as she joined partner Hsin-Yuan Shih to go 11-4 at third doubles.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. Freshmen and transfers competing in their first year are not eligible.