Bulls Rally Falls Short on Senior Day


BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo wrestling team rallied all the way back from a 16-0 deficit to tie Northern Illinois, 16-16, with one match remaining, but ultimately lost to the Huskies, 19-16, at Alumni Arena on Sunday afternoon.

After spotting the Huskies a 16-0 lead, Joe Ariola started the comeback with an 11-3 major decision over Max Ihry at 197 lbs. Ariola improved to 5-1 in MAC duals on the season.

Jake Gunning followed with a 4-2 decision over Caleb Gossett. With the match tied at two, Gunning earned a takedown with just eight seconds remaining in the final period to get the victory. The redshirt-junior improved to 10-1 in duals on the season with the win.

Kyle Akins avenged his 2017 NCAA Tournament loss to Brock Hudkins with a 3-2 decision for the Bulls' third straight win. Akins win cut the NIU advantage to 16-10.

A banged-up Bryan Lantry followed with a hard-fought 2-0 decision over Alijah Jeffrey at 133 lbs. Lantry got a second-period escape and then rode out Jeffrey for the entire third period to earn his ninth dual win of the season.

Jason Estevez earned a dominant 11-4 decision over Anthony Rubino to bring the Bulls all the way back to tie the dual at 16 with just one match remaining.

However, NIU's Nolan Baker was able to jump out to an 8-1 first-period lead and held on for a 12-9 decision over Nick Palumbo to give the Huskies the 19-16 victory.

Prior to the match, Buffalo honored six seniors – Joe Ariola, James Devine III, Jason Estevez, Derek Holcomb, Blake Retell and Austin Weigel.

The Bulls will next host Binghamton on Thursday night at Alumni Arena.

157 – Caden McWhirter (NIU) won by fall over Eric Fasnacht (UB), 1:38
165 – Andrew Scott (NIU) won by major decision over Noah Grover (UB), 9-1
174 – Quinton Rosser (NIU) won by decision over Christian Dietrich (UB), 3-0
184 – Bryce Gorman (NIU) won by decision over Brett Perry (UB), 4-1
197 – Joe Ariola (UB) won by major decision over Max Ihry (NIU), 11-3
285 – Jake Gunning (UB) won by decision over Caleb Gossett (NIU), 4-2
125 – Kyle Akins (UB) won by decision over Brock Hudkins (NIU), 3-2
133 – Bryan Lantry (UB) won by decision over Alijah Jeffrey (NIU), 2-0
141 – Jason Estevez (UB) won by decision over Anthony Rubino (NIU), 11-4
149 – Nolan Baker (NIU) won by decision over Nick Palumbo (UB), 12-9