Bulls Improve to 2-0 in the MAC with Thrilling 16-15 Win at Kent State

Bulls Improve to 2-0 in the MAC with Thrilling 16-15 Win at Kent State

KENT, OH – The University at Buffalo wrestling team turned a 15-9 deficit into a 16-15 victory at Kent State on Sunday afternoon. The Bulls have now started 2-0 in Mid-American Conference competition for the first time since the 1999-00 season.

Trailing 15-9, things looked grim for the Bulls. In fact, in the penultimate match, Brett Perry trailed 4-0. However, the redshirt-junior rallied to take the match to overtime. In overtime, it was all Perry as he outscored Colin McCracken, 13-3, to not only win the match, but get the major decision and pull the Bulls to within 15-13.

In the final match, Joe Ariola earned a 5-3 decision over Kyle Conel to complete the comeback and earn the 16-15 victory.

"Wow, what can I say, these guys stepped up!" head coach John Stutzman said. "We fought to the end and that's what UB is all about!"   

The dual started out well for the Bulls as they won the first three matches to take a 9-0 lead.

Starting at heavyweight, Jake Gunning earned a 6-2 decision to improve to 4-1 on the season. Kyle Akins followed with a 5-1 decision over Will Bardezbain at 125. Finally, Bryan Lantry earned the Bulls' third straight win with 4-1 decision over Anthony Tutolo at 133.

Kent State won the next five matches in close fashion to take a commanding 15-9 lead.

Buffalo evened its record at 3-3 with the win and improved to 2-0 in the MAC. The Bulls will next take on Cornell at the Center for the Arts on December 18.

Buffalo 16 Kent State 15
285: Jake Gunning (UB) over Devin Nye (KSU) dec. 6-2
125: Kyle Akins (UB) over Will Bardezbain (KSU) dec. 5-1
133: Bryan Lantry (UB) over Anthony Tutolo (KSU) dec. 4-1
141: Tim Rooney (KSU) over Blake Retell (UB) dec. 4-1
149: Nick Monico (KSU) over Jason Estevez (UB) dec. 3-1
157: Casey Sparkman (KSU) over Eric Fasnacht (UB) dec. 3-1
165: Isaac Bast (KSU) over Noah Grover (UB) dec. 7-3
174: Dylan Barreiro over Ryan Kromer (UB) dec. 4-3
184: Brett Perry (UB) over Colin McCracken (KSU) maj. dec. 16-8 tiebreaker-1
197: Joe Ariola (UB) over Kyle Conel (KSU) dec. 5-3