1978 National Championship Team to be Honored at Friday's Dual Against Michigan State

1978 National Championship Team to be Honored at Friday's Dual Against Michigan State

Match Notes (PDF)

BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo wrestling team will host Michigan State on Friday night at Alumni Arena. At halftime, the Bulls will honor members of the 1978 national championship team along with head coach Ed Michael. UB is celebrating the 40th anniversary of the school's lone team national championship.  

Buffalo is 2-2 overall and 1-0 in the Mid-American Conference. The Bulls are coming off a 27-9 win over Ohio on November 25. UB was led by Kyle Akins and Joe Ariola who each pinned their opponent.

Michigan State lost its only dual of the season at Central Michigan, 31-9, on November 17. The Spartans have three wrestlers in the national rankings, including 133-pounder Austin Eicher who ranks 17th, 141-pounder Javier Gasca who ranks 18th and 174-pounder Drew Hughes who ranks 18th.  

This will be the first meeting between Buffalo and Michigan State.

The University at Buffalo wrestling program won the 1978 national championship.  For winning the NCAA Division III title, the entire 1977-78 squad and its coaching staff were inducted into the  Dr. and Mrs. Edmond J. Gicewicz Family UB Athletics Hall of Fame in 1995. The Bulls placed six wrestlers on the podium en route to the title, including Mike Jacoutot, Kirk Anderson, Bruce Hadsell, Dave Mitchell, Jeff Wheeler and Paul Curka.

Friday's dual starts at 7 pm and will air on ESPN3. Click here to watch.

Projected Matchups vs. Michigan State
125: Kyle Akins (3-1) or Justin Patrick (4-3) vs. Rayon Foley (4-1)
133: Bryan Lantry (2-2) vs. Nathan Ellis (2-1)
141: Blake Retell (0-2) vs. Javier Gasca (5-0)
149: Jason Estevez (2-2) or Nick Palumbo (1-2) vs. Jwan Britton (0-2) or Austin Eicher (0-0)
157: Kobe Garrehy (1-1) or Eric Fasnacht (2-3) vs. Jake Tucker (3-3)
165: Noah Grover (2-2) or Derek Holcomb (2-2) vs. Logan Ritchie (2-2) or Austin Hiles (0-2)
174: Ryan Kromer (0-0) or Austin Weigel (6-4) vs. Drew Hughes (3-1)
184: Brett Perry (3-3) vs. Shwan Shadaia (4-2) or Danny Kruse (3-1)
197: Joe Ariola (4-4) vs. Nick May (3-3)
285: Jake Gunning (3-1) vs. Christian Rebottaro (2-2)