Bulls Win Home Opener Over Kent State, 23-12

Bulls Win Home Opener Over Kent State, 23-12

BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo wrestling team took down Kent State, 23-12, on Sunday afternoon at Alumni Arena. It was the Bulls first win over Kent State since 2005.

The Bulls got off to a great start thanks to the return of Kyle Akins at 125. In the redshirt-sophomore's first match since returning from an injury, Akins earned a 13-5 major decision over Cory Simpson to set the tone for the afternoon.

Bryan Lantry kept things rolling at 133, when he earned a 6-3 decision over Anthony Tutolo. It was an upset win for the Bulls as Tutolo was ranked 19th in the nation entering the match.

After Kent State's Chance Driscoll won a 4-3 decision over Ryan Peters, in Peters' first career dual, Colt Cotten got the Bulls back on track with a technical fall win. The senior 149-pounder cruised to a 17-0 win over Tim Rooney.

Alex Smythe followed with his first dual win of the season. Smythe earned a 15-5 major decision over Ben Heyob at 157. Tyler Rill was inserted into the lineup at 165 and it paid dividends. The redshirt-senior earned a 13-8 decision over Isaac Bast.

The Golden Flashes climbed back into the match with wins at 174 and 184, but James Benjamin put an end to the Kent State threat with earning a 12-3 major decision over Stephen Suglio at 197.

Jake Gunning was upset by Devin Nye at 285 in the final match of the day.

"It was a good win for us after losing last week. We rebounded really well," head coach John Stutzman said. "Kyle Akins and Bryan Lantry got us going down low and we kept that momentum going. Alex Smythe also stepped up big and we were really happy with the first six performances."

The Bulls next wrestle at Indiana next Sunday.  

Buffalo 23, Kent State 12

125: Kyle Akins (UB) won by major decision over Cory Simpson (KSU), 13-5
133: Bryan Lantry (UB) won by decision over #19 Anthony Tutolo (KSU), 6-3
141: Chance Driscoll (KSU) won by decision over Ryan Peters (UB), 4-3
149: Colt Cotten (UB) won by tech fall over Tim Rooney (KSU), 17-0
157: Alex Smythe (UB) won by major decision over Ben Heyob (KSU), 15-5
165: Tyler Rill (UB) won by decision over Isaac Bast (KSU), 13-8
174: Jairod James (KSU) won by decision over Muhamed McBryde (UB), 3-2
184: Jerald Spohn (KSU) won by decision over Brett Perry (UB), 7-2
197: James Benjamin (KSU) won by major decision over Stephen Suglio (KSU), 12-3
285: Devin Nye (KSU) won by decision over Jake Gunning (UB), 6-4