Golabek Defends Shot Put Title as Weather Plays Havoc at MAC Championships

Golabek Defends Shot Put Title as Weather Plays Havoc at MAC Championships

DEKALB, IL – University at Buffalo junior Rob Golabek defended his league title by winning the men's shot put at the Mid-American Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Friday. Most of Friday's events were unable to be completed due to thunderstorms in the area.

Golabek broke his own record in the event for the third time this season. He turned in a top throw of 62-11.25 (19.18m) on the second of his six attempts as he had marking throws on each attempt. By comparison, the second-place finisher, Miami's Adam Ruiz had only one of throws to count on the day as his best toss resulted in a distance of 55-6.50 (16.93m), more than seven feet off Golabek's pace.

With Golabek's victory in the shot put being the only event completed early on Friday, the Bulls moved into fourth place among the six schools with 22 points, one point behind third-place Kent State. Akron leads the men's meet with 46 points.

In the women's 1,500-meters, UB's two entrants missed out on making Saturday's final, although both runners posted season-best times. Sam Beim finished 15th in 4:40.35 while Jackie Cavalluzzo placed 17th in 4:43.20. The top 12 finishers advanced to the finals.

UB remains in third place through five events with 21 points. Kent State leads the women's meet with 43 points.

Because of the weather, Friday's qualifying races were scrubbed with the races being competed as timed finals on Saturday. Field events slated were Friday were also moved to Saturday with the men's and women's long jumps and the women's shot put competition kicking the schedule off at 9:00 am (ET) Saturday morning.


Men (through four events): Akron 46, Central Michigan 27, Kent State 23, Buffalo 22, Miami (OH) 20, Eastern Michigan 18.

Women (through five events): Kent State 43, Miami (OH) 25, Buffalo 21, Akron 20, Ohio 20, Toledo 15, Central Michigan 10, Eastern Michigan 10, Western Michigan 9, Ball State 8, Bowling Green 8, Northern Illinois 0.