First Day of MAC Indoor Track Championships Conclude

First Day of MAC Indoor Track Championships Conclude

BOWLING GREEN, OH – First day action at the 2010 Mid-American Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships at Bowling Green's Perry Field House came to a conclusion on Friday with the University at Buffalo's men's team standing fourth and the women tied for 10th.

UB's men's distance medley relay squad had the best showing of the day with their second-place finish. The foursome of John Inzina, Doug Hannon, Steve Houghmaster and Mike Pressler turned in a season-best time of 10:08.20. The time sliced more than 16 seconds off the previous best set at Penn State's Sykes-Sabock Cup.

Matt Gac had a third-place finish in the men's weight throw. The UB record holder in the event finished with a best throw of 62-6 (19.05m), setting the mark on his final attempt.

The UB men also picked up a pair of scorers in the 5,000-meter run. Dylan Conway finished fourth in 14:48.97 with Jacob Hagen placing sixth in 15:04.32.

In the women's competition, Ajla Glavasevic finished fourth in the pentathlon. Glavasevic had a total of 3,580 points in the five events. She finished second in the shot put portion of the competition with a throw of 39-7 (12.06m) and fourth in the long jump portion at 17-11.75 (5.48m). In the men's heptathlon, Russell Cameron stands second after four of the seven events. Cameron totaled 2,917 points on Friday and trails Kent State's Michael Schober by 190 points. Cameron had a second-place finish in the shot put at 43-5.75 (13.25m). He also tied for second in the high jump with a season-best of 6-5 (1.96m).

Shante White placed fifth in the women's weight throw with a best toss of 56-4.75 (17.19m).

The Bulls also qualified several athletes for finals on Saturday. In the men's 60-meter hurdles, Jamal Norward qualified third with a season-best 8.07 while Austin Archibald turned in an 8.16 clocking for seventh and Andrew Omoregie taking eighth in 8.23. Jackie Burns and Shaun Brummert qualified for the 800-meter finals as Burns set a season-best time of 2:14.60 while Brummert finished his preliminary race in 1:54.75. Brian Smith qualified fourth in the men's 200-meters in 22.04.

Jamiee McClary tied her school record in the women's 60-meters in 7.60 seconds. She missed making Saturday's championship field, however, placing 10th in the qualifying round.

Competition concludes Saturday.


Women's team scores: Kent State 34, Akron 29, Eastern Michigan 28, Bowling Green 28, Western Michigan 24, Miami (OH) 24, Ohio 22, Toledo 19, Central Michigan 10, Ball State 8, Buffalo 8, Northern Illinois 0.

Men's team scores: Akron 38, Kent State 29, Central Michigan 24, Buffalo 19, Eastern Michigan 11