UB Men’s Tennis Picked To Win 2018 MAC Tournament Championship

UB Men’s Tennis Picked To Win 2018 MAC Tournament Championship

BUFFALO, NY – The University at Buffalo men's tennis team was picked to repeat as MAC Tournament Champions in the preseason coaches' poll that was announced Wednesday morning by the league office.  While the Bulls were picked to win the tournament title, they were picked to finish second during the regular season behind Western Michigan.

The Bulls, who went undefeated in conference play last season, return nearly everybody from last year's championship team, while adding two solid freshmen newcomers, who will bolster the lineup.

Buffalo will be led by sophomore Hao Sheng Koay, who was named a 2017 All-MAC First Team selection. A native of Kangar, Malaysia, Sheng Koay posted a 3-3 overall MAC record in singles and an 8-7 overall record, while adding a 2-1 MAC record in doubles and 6-6 overall doubles mark. Senior Vidit Vaghela and sophomore Ville Fridell were both named 2017 All-MAC Second Team honorees.  A native of Ahmedabad, India, Vaghela went 4-2 in MAC singles and a 7-8 overall record, including a 3-2 overall doubles mark.  A native of Gothenburg, Sweden, Fridell was 5-1 in MAC singles, 9-5 overall in singles and posted a perfect 4-0 MAC record in doubles, including a 10-4 overall doubles record.

Junior Ethan Nittolo was named the MAC Tournament MVP last season, while senior Petr Vodak was also named to the all-tournament.  They will provide depth to this UB lineup as will sophomore Konstantinos Tsakiris and freshmen Nickolas Frisk and Matthew Johnson.

The Bulls will begin their spring season next Wednesday when they face Wichita State in Ithaca, NY.

The 2018 MAC Men's Tennis Tournament is scheduled for April 27-28 on the campus of the University at Buffalo in Buffalo, N.Y.

The complete voting totals are as follows with all six head coaches casting votes.

2018 MAC Men's Tennis Preseason Poll

1. Western Michigan (34)

2. Buffalo (32)

3. Northern Illinois (21)

4. Ball State (19)

5. Toledo (11)

6. Binghamton (9)

(total points based on 6 points for a first-place vote; 5 for second-place, etc.)

Regular Season First-Place votes: Western Michigan (4); Buffalo (2).

Tournament winner votes: Buffalo (3); Western Michigan (2); Northern Illinois (1).