Bulls Qualify for 18th-Straight MAC Tournament with Win over Binghamton

Bulls Qualify for 18th-Straight MAC Tournament with Win over Binghamton

AMHERST, NY – UB men's tennis completed their regular season with a critical 5-2 victory over Binghamton. With the win, the Bulls qualify for their 18th-straight MAC Championship. It's the second time this season Buffalo defeated Binghamton after winning 4-3 in March.

Buffalo started the match off well by quickly winning all three doubles matches. Akhil Mehta and Tony Miller shut out their opponents, 6-0. First and second doubles finished simultaneously with Amar Hromic and Pablo Alvarez winning 6-3, and Sergio Arevalillo and Ethan Nittolo picking up the 6-4 victory.

Singles play was much tighter as three of the six singles matches went three sets. Nittolo clinched the match for the Bulls. He won at the second and third sets, 6-2, 6-3, after dropping the first set, 6-3.

Amar Hromic won his match in straight sets, 6-1, 6-2. Pablo Alvarez won the deciding third set, 6-3. He won the first set in convincing fashion 6-1, before dropping the second set, 7-5. The senior bounced back in the third set to win a key point for the Bulls. Sergio Arevalillo fell in the first set 6-0, but won a tight second set, 7-6. He carried the second set momentum into the third as he earned his tenth-straight singles victory.

Buffalo has won three out of their five games to conclude their season. Thursday's result was special as the Bulls honored four senior, Pablo Alvarez, Sergio Arevalillo, Amar Hromic, and Akhil Mehta following the match.

"What a way for our seniors to finish, Lee Nickell said following Thursday's 5-2 win over Binghamton. "I couldn't be happier for them, they have been the catalyst for the success of our program. The match was a tough one, but we did a great job of not panicking and keeping our wits in the tough moments. Ethan came through with a tremendous win at five and I am excited to see his confidence in the tournament next week."

The Bulls will have to wait to see who they will play in the MAC Championships on Friday, April 29. Friday will feature the semifinal matches between the No. 1 seed vs No. 4 seed and No. 2 seed vs No. 3 seed. Both winners will then play in the finals on Sunday, April 30. This year's MAC Championships will be hosted by Northern Illinois.


1. Amar Hromic/Pablo Alvarez (UB) def. Hazarika/Cestarollo (BU), 6-3

2. Sergio Arevallilo/Ethan Nittolo (UB) def. Kote/Caputo (BU), 6-4

3. Akhil Mehta/Tony Miller (UB) def. Hureau/Druger (BU), 6-0

Order of finish: 3,2,1


1. Sergio Arevalillo (UB) def. Hazarika, (BU) 0-6, 7-6, 6-3

2. Pablo Alvarez (UB) def. Hureau (BU), 6-1, 5-7, 6-3

3. Amar Hromic (UB) def. Cestarollo (BU), 6-1, 6-2

4. Caputo (BU) def. Akhil Mehta (UB), 7-6, 6-4

5. Ethan Nittolo (UB) def. Bouchet (BU), 3-6, 6-2, 6-3

6. Kote (BU) def. Tony Miller (UB), 7-5, 6-1

Order of finish: 3, 6, 2, 4, 5*, 1