Perkins Named One Of Ten Candidates For Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award

Perkins - Kareem Abdul Jabbar Award

BUFFALO, NY - University at Buffalo senior Nick Perkins has been named one of 10 candidates for the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced.

Named after Class of 1995 Hall of Famer and three-time NCAA Champion Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the annual honor in its fifth year recognizes the top centers in men's college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 21 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

Perkins, one of the top sixth men in the entire country, has played in all 23 games off the bench for the Bulls, who improved 20-3 on the season Saturday afternoon. He is averaging 13.7 points per game and he leads Buffalo at 7.5 rebounds per contest.  He has scored 20 or more points six time this year, including a season high 22 points in a win over San Francisco.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 12, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5.
Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award include Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).
For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #KareemAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates 
Daniel Gafford, Arkansas
Nick Perkins, Buffalo
Nico Carvacho, Colorado St.
Jessie Govan, Georgetown
Bruno Fernando, Maryland
Nick Ward, Michigan St.
Moses Brown, UCLA
Charles Bassey, WKU
Nathan Knight, William & Mary
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin