Nate Oats Named NABC District Coach Of The Year

Nate Oats & Wes Clark

BUFFALO, NY – Third-year head coach Nate Oats has been named the District 14 Coach of the Year, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today.

Oats led the Bulls to their most successful season in school history as Buffalo went 27-9, setting a school record for wins in a season, while picking up UB's first ever NCAA Tournament win, an 89-68 triumph over PAC-12 champion, Arizona.  The Bulls won their first outright MAC Regular Season Title, earning the #1 seed in the conference tournament for the first time.  The Bulls used that seeding to make a run at the MAC Tournament title, defeating #2 Toledo, 76-66.

Under Oats, the Bulls dominated the MAC postseason teams as juniors Nick Perkins and CJ Massinburg were named to the All-MAC First Team, while junior Jeremy Harris was named to the All-MAC Second Team. Senior Wes Clark earned All-MAC Third Team honors and sophomore Davonta Jordan was named to the All-MAC Defensive Team.  For the second straight year, Perkins was named the MAC Sixth Man of the Year.

The 2017-18 Bulls set school records for wins (27), scoring offense (84.6), total rebounds (1388), field goals made (1105), and three pointers made (351).  They finished with 589 assists, which were the most in a season since 1973-74.

Previously, Oats was named the Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year earlier this month.


District 1 - John Becker, Vermont / Kevin Baggett, Rider

District 2 - Tony Bennett, Virginia

District 3 - Mike Jones, Radford

District 4 - Dan Hurley, Rhode Island

District 5 - Chris Mack, Xavier

District 6 - Travis DeCuire, Montana

District 7 - Chris Holtmann, Ohio State

District 8 - Bill Self, Kansas

District 9 - Mark Few, Gonzaga

District 10 - Bill Coen, Northeastern

District 11 - Steve Henson, UTSA

District 12 - Scott Nagy, Wright State

District 13 - Steve Donahue, Penn

District 14 - Nate Oats, Buffalo

District 15 - Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T

District 16 - Porter Moser, Loyola Chicago

District 17 - Eric Musselman, Nevada

District 18 - Bashir Mason, Wagner

District 19 - Matt McMahon, Murray State

District 20 - Mike Hopkins, Washington

District 21 - Rick Barnes, Tennessee

District 22 - Wes Miller, UNCG

District 23 - Donte Jackson, Grambling

District 24 - Bob Marlin, Louisiana

District 25 - Kelvin Sampson, Houston