Jackson Named to Hampshire Honor Society

Jackson Named to Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, TX – Former University at Buffalo quarterback Tyree Jackson has been named to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society – comprised of college football players who maintained a cumulative 3.2 or better grade point average throughout their college career. It is the eight straight year a UB player has made the list.

Jackson graduated in December with a social science interdisciplinary degree. He finished with a 3.33 grade point average. The 2018 Mid-American Conference Offensive Player of the Year threw for 3,131 yards and 28 touchdowns on the year. His 28 touchdowns were second in school history for a single season and his 35 combined passing and rushing touchdowns were the most in program history for a single season. Jackson was a two-time Academic All-MAC selection.

The National Football Foundation honored 1,643 players in 2019 - a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 1,274 honorees in 2018. The 424 schools represented breaks the previous mark of 308 set in 2018. The initiative has now honored 10,660 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.  

The entire list can be seen here.

UB's Hampshire Honor Society Members

2008 – Jamey Richard
2009 – Drew Willy
2012 – Peter Fardon
2013 – Graham Whinery
2014 - Colby Way, Alex Neutz
2015 – Lee Skinner, Jake Silas
2016 – Tyler Grassman, Matt Weiser, Ron Willoughby
2017 – Corbin Grassman
2018 – Kyle DeWeen, Tim Roberts
2019 – Tyree Jackson